Primary ballot shapes up as nominating petitions filed

The official primary ballot began to take shape yesterday, when the deadline passed for candidates to file nominating petitions to get on the ballot.

The Democratic gubernatorial primary race has been well-documented. Tom Wolf, Allyson Schwartz, Rob McCord, Jack Wagner, Katie McGinty and John Hanger each submitted petitions.

However, Republican Gov. Tom Corbett now has a primary challenger. Bob Guzzardi, an Ardmore businessman, has joined the race. More on that challenge here.

Locally, there are two races that will have primary challenges on May 20.

Incumbent state Sen. Anthony Hardy Williams, D-8, of Philadelphia, will face Christopher Broach, of Colwyn, in the Democratic primary. Williams has been endorsed by the Delaware County Democratic Party.

In the state House, incumbent state Rep. Margo Davidson, D-164, of Upper Darby, is opposed by fellow Democrats Billy J. Smith, of Lansdowne, and Dafan Zhang, of East Lansdowne. Davidson has the party’s endorsement.

Most of the candidates who filed for state House or state Senate already had formally announced their candidacy or received the endorsement of their local party committees. A few Democratic candidates have not formally announced their campaigns.

They include Whitney Hoffman, who is running against Republican state Rep. Stephen Barrar in the 160th Legislative District, and Michelle Vanella-Kudenko, who is opposing Republican state Rep. Nick Miccarrelli in the 162nd Legislative District. Democrat Ian Thomas is challenging Republican state Rep. Tom Killion in the 168th Legislative District.

Here is the complete list of Delaware County candidates who filed nominating petitions to get on the ballot:

State House

159th Legislative District
Michael Ciach, Republican
Thaddeus Kirkland, Democrat (incumbent)

160th Legislative District
Stephen Barrar, Republican (incumbent)
Whitney Hoffman, Democrat

161st Legislative District
Joe Hackett, Republican (incumbent)
Leanne Krueger-Braneky, Democrat

162nd Legislative District
Nick Miccarelli, Republican (incumbent)
Michelle Vanella-Kudenko, Democrat

163rd Legislative District
James Santora, Republican
Vince Rongione, Democrat

164th Legislative District
Saud Siddiqui, Republican
Margo Davidson, Democrat (incumbent)
Billy J. Smith, Democrat
Dafan Zhang, Democrat

165th Legislative District
William Adolph Jr., Republican (incumbent)
Jeremy Fearn, Democrat

166th Legislative District
Sarah Armstrong, Republican
Greg Vitali, Democrat (incumbent)

168th Legislative District
Thomas Killion, Republican (incumbent)
Ian Thomas, Democrat

185th Legislative District
Maria Donatucci, Democrat (incumbent)

191st Legislative District
Ronald Waters, Democrat (incumbent)

State Senate

8th Senatorial District
Anthony Hardy Williams, Democrat (incumbent)
Christopher Broach, Democrat

26th Senatorial District
Thomas McGarrigle, Republican
John Kane, Democrat

U.S. House

1st Congressional District
Megan Rath, Republican
Robert Brady, Democrat (incumbent)

7th Congressional District
Pat Meehan, Republican (incumbent)
Mary Ellen Balchunis, Democrat


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: