Davidson, Smith announce endorsements

State Rep. Margo Davidson, D-164, and Billy Smith, one of her two challengers in the Democratic primary, each announced endorsements today.

Davidson, of Upper Darby, announced that she has been endorsed by the United Steelworkers Union Local 10-1 and the United Food and Commercial Workers Local 1776. Smith, of Lansdowne, announced that the National Organization of Women is backing him.

The Democratic primary for the 164th Legislative District also includes Dafan Zhang, of East Lansdowne. Saud Siddiqui, of Upper Darby, is running as a Republican.

Davidson thanked Steelworkers 10-1 and UFCW 1776 in a statement.

“I was the only Democratic challenger to defeat the Republican Party in 2010 in Delaware County after decades of control with help from the members and leadership from the United Steelworkers Union Local 10-1 and the United Food and Commercial Workers,” Davidson said. “We continued to fight for refinery jobs once the closures threatened to end work for hundreds and we continue to fight privatization of our state liquor stores and push for an increase in minimum wage. I am proud to be endorsed by these hard-working women and men and will continue to fight for them.”

Smith issued a statement saying he was humbled by the endorsement of Pennsylvania branch of NOW. Delaware County does not have its own local chapter.

“As the son of a single mother, who was also raised with the help of my single grandmother, I am keenly aware of the struggles and gains that women have endured and made to attain gender equality,” Smith said. “I am forever in debt to the amazing women in my life for helping me become the man that I am today. I’ve always stood with women and will continue to do so as a member of Pennsylvania state legislature.”

Zhang, who has not announced any endorsements, issued a statement addressing Davidson’s union endorsements. He did not respond to NOW’s endorsement of Smith.

“Having personally struggled along with my family, friends, and neighbors in the 164th district for over a decade, I am most perfectly in touch with what is going on in my community,” Zhang said. “I also have been actively fighting for the prosperity of my fellow residents and their children through the use of practical education. If any local organizations wish to learn more about my struggles, vision and plans, please contact me and I would be elated to meet their members.”

The primary is May 20.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment