Davidson wins the 164th Legislative District Democratic primary

State Rep. Margo Davidson is arriving at her victory party at Casey’s in Upper Darby after dispatching challengers Billy Smith and Dafan Zhang in the Democratic primary for the 164th Legislative District.

The Daily Times has not yet spoken to Davidson, but the Smith campaign just issued a statement on the race:

“Taking on an incumbent is always a great challenge, and I will forever be proud of the strong grassroots support of my campaign.  This year, we gave Democratic voters a real choice – an all too rare and precious thing in our democracy. The contrast between the incumbent and me could not have been starker and I am proud to have fought hard for the right of every child to a free, quality education; the freedom for all women to make their own health care decisions; family-sustaining wages for all who work; and respect and equality for all Americans.

“We did not win the day, but we made it a real race. It is my hope that our incumbent representative heard us and will make a change in how she represents the 164th District.

“Voters tonight also chose our nominee for Pennsylvania Governor, and I am thrilled to support Tom Wolf for Governor. I will work as hard for Tom Wolf as I did for my own campaign, and I hope all Democratic voters in the 164th District join me in also working to send strong, progressive Democratic allies to Harrisburg this November.”

Dafan Zhang has not yet responded to a request for comment.

Look for more in tomorrow’s Daily Times, including remarks from Davidson.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

