Wolf announces transition team leaders

Gov.-elect Tom Wolf announced a team of leaders who will help him make the transition into the governorship.

Thursday’s announcement came three days after Wolf named former gubernatorial candidate Katie McGinty as his chief of staff.

The leadership on his transition team is as follows:

John A. Fry, transition chair: Fry is the president of Drexel University. He previously served as the president of Franklin & Marshall College and as the executive vice president of the University of Pennsylvania.

C. Kim Bracey, transition vice chair: Bracey is the mayor of York. Elected in 2009, Bracey became the city’s first African-American mayor. She previously was the York’s director of the Department of Community Development.

Jim Brown, transition vice chair: Brown is the chief of staff to U.S. Sen. Robert Casey Jr., D-Pa. He previously served as chief of staff to former Gov. Robert Casey Sr. and as the state secretary of general services. He also was a partner at the law firm Dilworth Paxson and a founding partner of SCP Partners, a venture capital firm.

Cynthia Shapira, transition vice chair: A community activist, Shapira also serves on the board of the Allegheny County Airport Authority and chairs the Pennsylvania Center for Women in Politics at Chatham University. She also is the secretary of the Jewish Federations of North America and the Jewish Federation of Greater Pittsburgh and a commissioner of the Pennsylvania Commission on Women.

Denise Smyler, counsel: Smyler is the founding attorney and owner of the Smyler Firm, which joined Wadud Ahmad and Joseph Zaffarese to form Ahmad, Zaffarese & Smyler in September 2013. Smyler is a commercial litigator and public finance attorney who has represented various municipalities, corporations and government entities for more than two decades.

Mary Soderberg, budget deficit and fiscal stabilization task force chair: Soderberg previously served as the budget secretary to former Gov. Ed Rendell. She has served as executive deputy secretary of the budget and chief financial officer of the commonwealth. Soderberg also was the vice chancellor for finance and administration of the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education for two years and the executive director of the House Democratic Appropriations Committee for more than a decade.

Josh Shapiro, budget deficit and fiscal stabilization task force vice chair: Shapiro is a the chairman of the Montgomery County Commissioners. He previously represented the 153rd Legislative District for seven years and served as a Congressional staffer in Washington.




Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: